National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF)


The National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF) is a competency-based framework that organizes all qualifications according to a series of levels of knowledge, skills and aptitude. These levels, graded from one to ten, are defined in terms of learning outcomes which the learner must possess regardless of whether they are obtained through formal, non-formal or informal learning. NSQF in India was notified on 27th December 2013. All otherframeworks, including the NVEQF (National Vocational Educational Qualification Framework) released by the Ministry of HRD, stand superceded by the NSQF.

Specific outcomes expected from implementation of NSQF are:

- Mobility between vocational and general education by alignment of degrees with NSQF
- Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), allowing transition from non-formal to organised job market
- Standardised, consistent, nationally acceptable outcomes of training across the country through a national quality assurance framework
- Global mobility of skilled workforce from India, through international equivalence of NSQF
- Mapping of progression pathways within sectors and cross-sectorally
- Approval of NOS/QPs as national standards for skill training

Monday, 19th Jun 2017, 03:31:50 AM

Add Your Comment:
Post Comment